fig, thyme and lemon jam

The first time I had fig jam was during my flying days. I remembered having it with cheese, it was so good! We love cheese and since fig is in season right now, I thought I will make us some fig jam to go with cheese

IMG_0744

I read through a few recipes, took some pointers and came up with my own recipe. There are no complicated steps in making the jam, just mix everything together and let it cook away!

IMG_0750

I’m really really happy with how the jam turns out. C who doesn’t like figs, love the jam. He couldn’t stop raving about it and THAT is a great compliment coming from him 🙂

IMG_0770Fig, thyme and lemon jam

Ingredients
8 ripe figs, washed, stemmed and cut into pieces
2-3 whole sprigs of thyme
1 tsp of lemon rind, finely chopped
1/4 cup sugar (I might omit sugar next time)
1 tbsp honey
juice from 1/2 lemon
1 tsp vanilla essence
pinch of salt

  1. Mix everything in a bowl and allow the figs to macerate for 30 minutes.
  2. Pour into a saucepan and cook on medium heat, stirring occasionally until the jam thickens.
  3. Remove from heat when the jam reaches your desired consistency.
  4. Store in a clean jar and keep it in the fridge once it’s cooled.

IMG_0800the little cheese monster can’t wait…as usual 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

