a helping hand

After much deliberation, we are finally getting a helper! She will be here tomorrow!!!

When Elisa was a few months old, C and I always fight over this issue-getting a helper. I wasn’t ready then. I was not ready to put her under the care of non-family members and I want to spend as much time as possible with my baby. I want to be there for her when she starts to crawl, when she takes a stumble, when she takes her first step. I want to be there for all her firsts and I did! I couldn’t have possibly witnessed all her firsts if not for C who works tirelessly and supporting me both financially and emotionally. For that, I am very thankful!

So am I ready now?

Actually, not quite. I’m still in two minds about it. With a helper, we get an extra pair of hands and I know she will make our lives much more easier (unless she gives us hell, which I hope not!). But it also comes with a whole lot of issues to deal with especially if I have to leave Elisa with her alone when I eventually go back to work.

We have also gotten some “are you sure?” or “I will not leave my kids with the helper alone” kind of comments from relatives and friends and it makes me wonder if we made the right choice.

I told C my concern and what he said put my mind to rest. He said if this helper does not work out, we can always get another one. And I should only go back to work when I am 100% ready to leave Elisa with the helper. 

It will be  a new ball game altogether having an extra person living with us. I really hope she is trustworthy and not a problem maker, I do not need additional stress in my life! I do not know how things will pan out when the helper is here. But one thing I know for sure, messy house no more! Yay!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

