adieu 2014

It has been a frenzied first week of 2015. Before I could get over the jet-lagged from our Melbourne trip, I was down with a bout of stomach flu. I was out for three days.

Now, everything is back to normal.

2014 has been a trying year. There were so many, too many unfortunate incidents that happened, from tragic air disasters to relationship matters to health scare.

I spent a good 8.5 years working in the air. All the negative news about the aviation industry made my heart sank. I cried for them. It can happen to anyone of us. No one knows, really! I hope this year will be a better year for air travels. Safe travels to everyone out there!

Earlier this year, while my mum was in Singapore, my dad was admitted to hospital for chest pain. Two (or three?) of his arteries were blocked and he did an angioplasty procedure while he was all alone in Penang! He told us it’s nothing serious, it’s not chest pain, blah blah blah. But all of us knew truly well that he is making light of the whole situation. My dad is a strong man (you should see how he scolded a Chinese man who stole our parking lot in Melbourne, he wanted to punch that bugger in the face! haha) but having to go through all these alone can be quite scary. I am glad that he has recovered and enjoying his wanton mee just like before. I am also very very grateful to all my uncles, aunties and cousins who visited my dad while he was in the hospital. This episode reminded me that I have to spend more time with my family and treasure your loved ones coz you’ll never know.

Last year, a lot of hearts have been broken. It is so heartbreaking to know that for all that you have done, you are not being appreciated. To be honest, 2014 wasn’t a good year for us (I am not going to dwell on it). I am glad that we worked things out and we are looking forward to see what 2015 will bring us. To my dear friends who have their hearts broken, don’t give up even when the road ahead is rough. Keep trying!!

With every bad, there is a good. The best thing that happened in 2014 was Elisa turning one. It was a big milestone for her, for me as a mother and for us as a family. It’s not easy bringing up a baby without any family support in Singapore but we did it! Life has not been the same ever since I became a mother, but I would not have it any other way.

It’s one week into the new year and everything looks very promising. I believe that it will only be upwards and onwards from now on. Bring it on 2015!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

xoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

