{e cooks} pad thai

It started with me posting a photo of tom yum soup followed by yum voon sen on instagram. I was thinking what to cook next and someone commented “pad thai”. I love all things Thai but pad thai is my least favourite Thai food. But someone in the family loves it. So, challenge accepted.

IMG_6445.JPG

Normally when I cook, I’ll look for the easiest dishes to cook which involves minimal preparation and cleaning up. But now, I’m slowly moving on to slightly complicated dishes. I’m ready to expand my culinary skill 😉

 As usual, I turned to my most trusted site on the www for the recipe. After going through the recipe, I set out to buy the ingredients. I have most of the items at home except the chilli powder and the ground peanuts. I thought of leaving both the items out but I reckon they are the two most crucial accompaniments for pad thai. Now, why can’t they sell the ground peanuts and chilli powder in a smaller quantity? I have one big packet of each sitting in the kitchen! Any suggestions how to use ’em up?

To make this dish, it’s important to have your mis en place done. Get everything ready and you are ready to roll 🙂

IMG_6444.JPG

Pad Thai (serves 2-3 pax)
Recipe adapted from here

1 tbsp cooking oil
2 cloves of garlic, minced
2 shallots, minced
1 chicken breast meat, cut into strips
8-10 shrimp, shelled and deveined
1 tbsp salted Chinese radish (chye po)
1 tbsp dried shrimp
1 pc dried bean curd, cut into cubes

2 dried rice noodles (soak in hot water until soft)
1 tbsp water
Pad Thai Sauce (see below)
1 egg

2-3 Chinese chives (cut into 2 cm strips) – optional
2 handfuls of bean sprouts

Accompaniments
2 tbsp ground peanuts
1 bunch of cilantro, chopped
1 lime, cut into wedges
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp sugar – optional

Pad Thai Sauce
1 tsp chili powder
1/2 tbsp white sugar
1/2 tbsp palm sugar
1 tbsp fish sauce
1 tbsp tamarind juice
1 tbsp oyster sauce (optional)

1. Soak the dried rice noodles in hot water for about 20 minutes until soft. Meanwhile, prepare the Pad Thai sauce by mixing the ingredients together. Set aside.
2. In a wok over medium heat, fry garlic and shallots until fragrant. Add the chicken, shrimp, salted Chinese radish, dried shrimp and dried bean curd. Stir fry until chicken and prawns are cooked.
3. Add the noodles and the water and cook until the noodles are soft.
4. Add in the Pad Thai sauce and mix well. Cook until most of the sauce has evaporated.
5. Push the noodles to one side and add an egg. Scramble the egg. Once it’s slightly cooked, add bean sprouts and Chinese chives. Mix well until cooked.
6. Transfer to a serving dish. Garnish with accompaniments and serve.

Aroi mak mak!

Leave a Reply

