{e bakes} almond croissant

Whenever I bake or cook, I always have C in mind. He loves pandan chiffon cake, I bake pandan chiffon cake. He loves cinnamon roll, I bake cinnamon rolls (although I’ve not make it for a long time and he’s bugging me now!). He loves buffalo wings, I make buffalo wings. You get the gist?

I don’t know if this a good thing but I always put others before me. I go by this motto – as long as they are happy, I am happy. Very easy to please, huh?!

unnamed (1)Back to the almond croissant. When we were at Dutch Colony a few weeks back, C ordered an almond croissant to share. It was until then that I found out he loves almond croissant. Took me 15 years to find out! Tsk Tsk..

While we were doing grocery shopping, we spotted a box of croissant and immediately, almond croissant came to mind. I have all the ingredients readily at home, so why not almond croissant for tea?

unnamed (3)
Until I read the recipe, I didn’t know it would be so easy to recreate something so delicious at home. A little note of caution though. Almond croissants are very delicious BUT also very rich. So eat at your own risk 😀

Almond Croissants (croissants aux amandes)

recipe adapted from here

6 day old medium/large croissants
sliced almonds
icing sugar for dusting

Syrup
1 tbsp sugar
1/2 cup of hot water
1 tsp rum essence/vanilla essence

Almond cream/crème d’amandes
1/4 cup castor sugar
1 cup almond flour
pinch of salt
100g butter, soften, diced
2 eggs

1. Dissolve sugar with hot water. Add rum essence and set aside.
2. Combine sugar, almond flour and salt in a mixing bowl. Mix well and then blend in butter until well incorporated. Add in eggs, 1 at a time and mix until the mixture become creamy.
3. Preheat the oven to 180C. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
4. Slice the croissants horizontally (like you would for a sandwich).
5. Generously brush both cut sides with sugar syrup. The croissants should be quite moist but not soaking wet. Arrange the croissants on the baking sheet, cut sides up.
6. Spread about 2 tbsp of almond filling on the bottom half of each croissant and place the top back on. Spread 1 tbsp of almond filling over the top. Sprinkle with sliced almonds.
7. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, or until the almond cream is golden. Transfer onto a cooling rack, dust with icing sugar and serve, slightly warm or at room temperature.

unnamed (2)

Psst…a little secret with you all. I have never eaten an almond croissant before (until at Dutch Colony). Gah! But now, I am a convert. Can I have an almond croissant please? 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “{e bakes} almond croissant

    1. e Post author

      When Elisa was younger, I didn’t cook much. She needs me to be around most of the time and whenever I have free time, I’ll take a nap! Is just that when she is slightly older then I start baking/cooking. Did you try the one from Dutch Colony? you like it?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

