A Love Letter To Elisa: You’re Ten Months Old

Dear Elisa,

Time is flying by so very fast. Two more months before your big one. We still have no idea what we are going to do for your one year old birthday. We, papa and myself have different ideas on what we want for your birthday, so we shall see!

At 10 months, your personality is showing more and more. You are a joyful cheeky monkey. You start to understand things now. You know what you can do and what you can’t although you try to push the boundaries sometimes. When you have done something wrong, you will slowly move away from the scene and pretend as though nothing has happened.

You started calling papapapa at 8.5 months. I was very convinced that you don’t mean daddy when you said “papa” but papa obviously thinks otherwise. He proudly tells everyone that you are calling him. Then one day, you crawled towards him, looked at him and in your sweet little voice called out papa! I tell you, that was the best moment in papa’s life. He was beyond excited. You turned him into a puddle of goo!

No problem on your feeding front. You ate well. You eat everything. You have started to grab food from us or from the table. Whenever we are eating, you will crawl towards us and hoping that we will share some of our food with you. You never get any luck from me but your papa? He gives you everything! You still LOVE to nurse. You get all excited when you see boobies. You will stop whatever you are doing, crawl towards me and bury your face into me. It’s very funny. No one will understand, this is our bonding time. Mummy loves that moment πŸ™‚

Compared to babies your age, you are one step ahead. You are ‘cruising’ now and you are learning to walk by pushing the chairs around the house. You are very steady and very fast too! You have mastered the skill of climbing up and down the sofa. You needed help (standing on a pillow or my thighs) initially but now, you can do it on your own πŸ™‚

Just before you turned 9 months, mummy and papa went on a holiday in Hong Kong. I left you under the care of gong gong and por por. That was my first time separated from you for so many days. I was worried you won’t be comfortable with your grandparents but how wrong was I? You did so well. You don’t even realise mummy was not around! When I came back from HK, you made sure that I paid the price for leaving you alone. You did not allow me to carry you, you clung on to por por 😦 But only for a short while. Phew!

Last week, you were down with fever for three days, the first in your life. You lost your appetite and you became so weak. There were a few times you can’t even stand steadily. Your clothes has loosen, your cheeks have deflated and your thighs have lost one inch or two. Bye bye thunder thighs! My heart aches too see you suffer and I wished I could take over your place. It was a tough three days, luckily we were in Penang and we got tons of help from gong gong, por por, 2 kem por, aunty ping and aunty nee. You got better on the fourth day and all of us couldn’t be happier!

After you got well, we went on a mini holiday. We took a road trip to Ipoh to attend Aunty Sarah’s wedding and after that we headed up to Cameron Highlands! You were in the best of mood up on the hills. Although it was a short stay, we had a lot of fun. I am looking forward to more holidays with you πŸ™‚

I was telling papa the other day that you have grown so much. You are ten months old now, turning into a toddler soon, but in my eyes, you are a baby. Even when you are 20, 30 or 40 years old, you are still my baby. Forever mummy’s baby!

Oh, to date, you have fallen off the bed three times (only)! πŸ˜›

IMG_1518

Happy ten months old!

 

β™₯
Mummy

 

Leave a Reply

