{E eats} Hong Kong Cafe Culture

While we were in Hong Kong we managed to visit three coffee joints. In my opinion, they pale in comparison to what we get back here.

On our first night we went to Coffee Academics at Causeway Bay. I’ve read a lot of great reviews about this place but we were quite disappointed. We didn’t really like the vibe of this place, it could be because we were there at night? They also sell alcohol and we find that this is the place to be seen, definitely not your casual coffee joint. Back to their coffee, I ordered an iced latte. I find it rather weak, perhaps a hot latte would be a better choice. The hubs ordered their barista’s pick aeropress. It was so watered down that you can barely taste the coffee flavor. I’m not sure if it should be this way but for sure not our cup of tea coffee.

20140513-225150.jpg

While we were walking around Sheung Wan, we stumbled upon Cupping Room, discreetly located just off Cleverly Street. This quaint little shop is warm and welcoming with a minimalistic wooden interior. This place looks promising, I thought. But we were disappointed yet again. The flat white was weak and dull. Their long black was awful. It was so so sour. When I told the server she said that it is supposed to be like this with a citrusy after taste to which I find is way beyond citrusy. She did offer to change another cup of milk coffee though but the hubs declined. The food was mediocre, nothing spectacular.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhile the hubs was at his MBA workshop, I went to check out 18 Grams at Causeway Bay. It is a tiny little shop with just about 10 seats. I ordered a flat white to go. It was nicely done; strong, smooth and creamy, just like how I like it. It was the best coffee I’ve had in Hong Kong. In my opinion, the quality of their coffee is what sets itself apart from the other two.

20140513-225305.jpg

 

Coffee Academics
G/F, 38 Yiu Wa Street,
Causeway Bay.

Cupping Room
Shop LG, The Centre Mark,
287-299 Queen’s Road Central (Entrance on Cleverly Street),
Sheung Wan.

18 Grams
Hoi Tao Court,
15-27 Cannon St,
Causeway Bay.

 

 

Leave a Reply

