Growing A Human: Finding Out

The hubs and I have been married for two years plus and all this while, the hubs had set a time for when we should start a family. He said we should enjoy life as a married couple before jumping onto the baby bandwagon. I totally agree with him but my body clock is ticking, F A S T! All along, I have this timeline set for myself; get married at 28 and have kids by 30. Well, this has all been pushed back!

When Em gave birth, I must say the baby fever hit us especially the hubs. All this while, whenever I bring up the topic about starting a family, his answer will always be the same, “Not now. We should enjoy first, bla, bla, bla”. Then one day, he told me “I think I am ready!”. I was happy to hear that but as much as I want it, the playful me was slightly apprehensive. I still want to have fun; I still want to go on holiday! How lah?!

Well, leave it to fate, shall we?

Untitled4.12.12. I was almost a week late. So when I got back from work early in the morning, the first thing I did was to take the test. Waited. My gut feeling told me this could be it. And what I saw freaked me out! I woke the husband up and it freaked him out as well. It was weird, I always thought we would have that “Yay, we’re having a baby!” jump for joy moment, but nothing of that sort happened. He was shocked and so was I. It wasn’t that we didn’t want to have a baby, not at all, but it was the very fact that it happened so quickly and we hadn’t actually started trying. We are still in the planning stage! The hubs put it this way – we are planning to try.

I was in a daze the whole day. I remembered I cried a lot. I don’t know why. I guess I was still trying to come to terms with what had happened in the morning and I am afraid what the future will hold. My main concern was financial wise. I have to stop working (more on this later) and with only single income from the hubs, can we cope? The hubs assured and reassured me that we will be fine. Well, I know we will be fine, I just needed an assurance. We are doing well so far but it’s still my concern up till today. I guess it’s a wife/women thing 🙂

I waited for a few days before going to the doc’s “CONGRATULATIONS
E-laine! You are pregnant!
”  That was when the “we are having a baby!!” joy kicked in. We went home, picked up the phone and called our parents. My mum was beyond excited, she was screaming down the phone (in her office, mind you) when I told her she’s going to be a popo and then we started crying! Haha..like mother like daughter 🙂 My dad was calmer but I know he is as excited as my mum. Am I right, lou tau? 😉

The next person I told was Em, the bff. I wanted to share the good news with her the moment we found out but decided to wait for a while. Anyway, it did not last long. I was yearning to tell her. One afternoon over at my place, she asked me when am I going to stop flying. I smiled and I spilled the beans, kind of. I told her I can stop A N Y T I M E and the decision is with me. She looked at me with her eyes wide open and there was a complete silence before she started screaming…That look on her face was priceless!! Well, I guess she was just as shocked as us initially. But one thing is for sure, I know she is very very happy for us! 🙂

So, here it is, our finding out story. Shocked. Surprised. Nervous. Excited. Most of all VERY HAPPY!

2 thoughts on “Growing A Human: Finding Out

Leave a Reply

