{Something Healthy} Homemade Granola

Who knew granola was so easy to make? I didn’t know! Well, now that I know, homemade granola is the only way to go. The beauty of making your own granola is that you can control what goes in and what does not. It’s pretty versatile. I always find store bought granola far too sweet and they can be quite expensive!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For this batch of granola, I used 4 different types of nuts; pecans, walnuts, hazelnuts and almonds. I think I am going nuts! 🙂 Nuts are a rich source of protein, omega-3 fatty acids and dietary fiber  Now that I have a VIP inside of me, I need all these nutrients. I added dried cranberries as well. The tart and slightly sweet cranberries paired well with the nuts and give this granola a zesty tang.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Enjoy them with milk or yogurt or like what the hubs did, eat them plain by the handful! They are tasty just like this. Oh, they go very well with ice cream too!! 😛

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

p/s: I am typing with one hand. And eating plain granola with the other 😉

Nutty Maple Granola
adapted from The Little Epicurean

5 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
Handful of pecans, roughly chopped
Handful of walnuts, roughly chopped
Handful of hazelnuts, whole
Handful of sliced almonds
1/3 cup maple syrup
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1-2 tbsp light brown sugar, packed
1/2 tsp salt

1. Preheat oven to 160 degrees C. Line an 18×13-inch baking sheet with parchment paper. Set aside.
2. In a large bowl, whisk together maple syrup, vegetable oil, brown sugar, and salt. Fold in rolled oats and nuts (except sliced almonds). Mix until the dry mixture is thoroughly coated.
3. Transfer mixture to prepared baking sheet. Spread evenly to form an even layer.
4. Bake for 45 minutes until mixture is golden brown in color. Stirring every 10-15 minutes. Add in sliced almonds and dried cranberries at the last 5 minutes of baking.
5. Let granola cool completely before storing in an airtight container for up to one month.

Just hola if you want some, I will be glad to send some over! 🙂

8 thoughts on “{Something Healthy} Homemade Granola

    1. e Post author

      Like what you said, the naughty way! 🙂 The recipe was great, the husband enjoyed it a lot. Thank you so much!!

      Reply
  1. Pingback: An attempt to eat healthy | lady J's musings

    1. e Post author

      Sure!! Let you know when I make another batch 🙂
      Nope, it’s not very sweet, I don’t like sweet granolas..just nice for me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

