Do You Remember Rotiboy?

Now that I am in my second trimester, I felt so much better. No more morning sickness, no more afternoon naps, basically I am back to normal. My energy level is back and so is my time spent in the kitchen. Those who are following me on Instagram will realized that there’s a surge in food pictures, don’t you think so? šŸ™‚

It has been quite a while since I had posted a recipe and today I am going to share with you a recipe which I had bookmarked for ages but only came to try it out yesterday.Ā I’m not sure if Rotiboy or Mexican Coffee Bun is popular in Singapore but it surely is in Malaysia.Ā I can still remember the long queues in KLCC and Mid Valley and theĀ irresistible coffee aroma.Ā For those who are not familiar,Ā RotiboysĀ are pillow soft buns with a crusty coffee topping (akin to cookie) and butter filling. Actually the name Rotiboy is a brand that made Mexican Coffee Bun popular and the name got attached to the product. So, this bun is commonly known as Rotiboy.

picmonkey-collagep4264430

This is not the healthiest bun but it’s very YUMMY! Be warned though, cause they are very addictive especially when they are hot off the oven! Once you had one, you would want to have another and maybe another. I had three!! *sheepish grin*

p4264447

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rotiboy aka Mexican Coffee Bun Recipe
adapted from Rasa Malaysia

For the Bun

500g Bread Flour
80g Castor Sugar
9gĀ  Salt
20g Milk Powder(optional)
10g Dry Yeast
60g Butter
280ml Water + 1 large Egg

1. Add all the dry ingredients. Mix it thoroughly.
2. Gradually add in water and egg mixture and knead on medium speed for about 10 minutes. (I used K.A dough hook)
3. Slowly add in butter and continueĀ kneading till you get a shining and elastic dough. (Note: Dough should beĀ able toĀ stretch without breaking)
4. Cover dough with a cloth. Leave to proof for about 40 minutes or till dough hasĀ doubled in size.
5. When dough is proofing, prepare topping.

Topping

200g Butter
150g Icing Sugar (Sieved)
3 Large Eggs (Lightly beaten)
200g Cake Flour
1 tbsp Instant Coffee + 2 tbsp Hot Water or 3 tbsp Espresso
1 tbsp Coffee Liquor or 1 tbsp Coffee Essence (optional)

1. Beat butter and sugar till pale in color.
2. Gradually add in egg.
3. Fold in flour on low speed.
4. Add in coffee mixture and liquor. Mix till combined. Set aside.

Filling

100g Butter

To Make Bun:

1. Remove the dough and on a lightly floured surface, punch dough down to release the air.
2. Divide dough in 25 grams each. Roll it out into a small circle and insert 1 tsp butter into each bun. Wrap it up.
3. Leave the bun to proof forĀ about 45 minutes or double in size.
4. Put the cream topping into a pipping bag and pump out the cream in circles around the bun.
5. Bake at 215 Celsius for 15-18 minutes.

Note:
1. I omitted milk powder.
2. I used milk instead of water.
3. The dough will be slightly sticky, which is okay.
4. I did not use any coffee liquor or coffee essence. Instead, I used 4 tbsp of Espresso (instead of 3 tbsp) and I added 1 tsp of instant coffee.
5. I divided the dough into 25 grams each but it turned out to be quite small, so you can adjust to your preference.
6. The recipe asked for 1 tsp of butter for each bun, I find it too much for a small bun, so I inserted only a tiny piece of butter. Well, according to Em, she commented that there’s not enough butter, so again, the preference is yours.
7. I baked the buns for 18 minutes and some of them were slightly burnt. So I guess 15 minutes will be just nice.
8. They are best eaten while they are hot when the crust is still crispy. If the crust has softened, pop them into the toaster/oven and heat them up for 3-4 minutes, the crust will be crispy again!

p4264453

p4264465

p/s: They taste better than they look.Ā 

5 thoughts on “Do You Remember Rotiboy?

    1. e Post author

      They were very popular in Malaysia but the craze has since died down. They are very yummy and the coffee aroma is simply divine. Do give this a try!! šŸ™‚

      Reply
  1. Lady J

    This looks amazing! And yes, I do remember the Rotiboy craze! Saw those in Bali but I didn’t get any, they smelled great though… šŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. e Post author

      Oh..didnā€™t know they have in Bali as well. Whenever I walked past the shop during college days, I will definitely get one for myself. They are irresistible!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

