Pre-Baby (sort of) Dinner

I am always up for entertaining at home and there’s nothing I love more than cooking for friends; it is one of our favorite ways to spend quality time with friends.

Few Sundays back, we had some friends over for dinner. The bff Em due date is approaching, so I thought why not take this opportunity to prepare a nice dinner for her before she pops (She has since gave birth to a baby girl šŸ™‚ ) As the hubs had to attend a workshop, I was left to do all the marketing, preparations and cooking all by myself. Cooking for 10 people is quite a task and to have everything ready in 4 hours is no mean feat! Thank goodness Em came over earlier to help out, an extra pair of hands in the kitchen do make a difference!

pa212574

The theme/keyword for the dinner is simplicity; no heavy cooking nor complicated dishes. So, here’s presenting you the pre-baby party (sort of) menu:-

To nibble on, we had caviar with melba toast. I chopped up some chives, onions, egg (whites and yolks) and lemon wedges for the accompaniments. The adults loved it, the kids? They prefer the melba toast šŸ™„ But I guess if I were a kid, I wouldn’t like those black lump of roes too. For starter, I made Baked Portobello Mushroom topped with Red Wine Chorizo. They were a crowd pleaser (that’s what everyone said) and imo, to-die-for!! šŸ˜‰

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

pa212579

As for main, I served up Roast Chicken Thigh with Lemon, Garlic and Thyme with a side of Roasted Broccoli. Although the chicken did not sit in the marinade for long, I was quite surprise with how tasty the chicken was. For the broccoli, I added some garlic and tossed them with anchovy oil. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees C and pop them inside for 8-10 minutes or until cook through. (To save time, cook both the mushrooms and the broccoli together)

pa212571

For carbs, I whipped up a two simple pasta dish; Truffle Basil Pesto Spaghetti and Furikake Spaghetti. Cook the spaghetti accordingly and separate them into two portions. For the first portion, I added store bought truffle basil pesto and for the second, I tossed in some Japanese furikake. I finished both with a drizzle of truffle oil for added flavor. Easy peasy! šŸ™‚

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now comes the dessert, Apple Pie with a twist. This is 10 times easier as compared to the classic apple pie and they can be made ahead of time. To assemble the apple pie, filled the phyllo pastry cup with cinnamon apple filling, topped with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and sprinkle with crushed nuts all over. A perfect sweet note to end the dinner on.

pa212586

Although this dinner was planned on such a short notice (the morning itself), I am glad that I managed to pull it off. Everyone left with a happy tummy and I seriously can’t wait to do this again! šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Pre-Baby (sort of) Dinner

Leave a Reply

