Butter Cake (With A Twist)

The baking bug has gotten into me…a big one! For some time now, I have been baking at least one something a day. The first thing that comes to my mind every morning is “what should I bake?“. I can spend the whole day in the kitchen even if it means standing on the feet the whole day-no complains at all! I’m not sure if it’s a good thing but I’m pretty sure that it’s definitely a bad thing for my ever increasing body fats 🙂

20120904-1245421

When it comes to baking, I’m all for simple recipes especially for days when you are feeling blah and you just want to bake something and you are not in the mood for major cleaning up. That’s precisely my mood last week. As I was scanning the www, I spotted this recipe on The Little Teochew and she wrote “If you need to whip up a simple teatime cake under short notice, give this a try”. That’s what I did! The recipe seems quite easy, perfect for blah days 🙂

p8282042

As much as I love butter cake, I also hate it.
Love:- 1. it’s such an easy cake to make, almost fail-proof. 2. no fancy ingredients, all the ingredients can be found in the kitchen. 3. the end result can is damn satisfactory.
Hate:- It is evil…to the waistline!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About this cake, there’s a slight twist to this butter cake. A small portion of almond meal was added to the cake and the end result? OH MY天 , just as what a good butter cake should be and with a subtle hint of nuttiness.

I’m glad that I found this recipe and this is definitely for keep. Oh man, I couldn’t stop myself from taking a small piece whenever I enter the kitchen!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Butter {Almond} Cake

145g all-purpose flour
50g ground almonds (almond meal)
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
170g butter, softened
170g sugar
2 egg,
1 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
12 tbsp whole milk

1. Preheat oven to 190ºC. Butter and line a 9-inch cake pan.
2. In a bowl, whisk together flour, almond meal, baking powder and salt.
3. Using a mixer on medium speed, cream butter and sugar until fluffy for about 2 minutes.
4. Beat in egg and vanilla until well-combined.
5. On low speed, add flour mixture in 3 parts, alternating with milk.*
* Split the flour into 1/2, 1/4 and 1/4 portions (approximately). The first time you add in the flour, use the 1/2 portion. The reason for this is because the first addition of flour will be fully coated with the fat and does not form gluten (gluten is what makes a cake tough), so it is a good idea to add more flour at the first stage.
6. Switch mixer to medium and beat for 10 to 15 seconds, just until batter appears uniform.
7. Pour batter into prepared pan and smooth top with spatula or knife.
8. Bake for about 40 minutes, or until it reaches a dark-gold color and an inserted cake tester comes out clean.
9. Let to rest in pan for 5 minutes, then remove to a cake stand or platter.

Leave a Reply

