Tiong Bahru Bakery

There have been much raves about the newly opened (okay, not so new anymore) bakery in the hip tiong bahru enclave. The hubs and I decided to check out what the raves are all about last weekend.

We got to bakery slightly past 11 and the place was jam packed. Although there were few people waiting infront if us, we managed to get a table in a whiz. Walking passed all the delicate pastries and the aroma of freshly baked pastries and freshly brewed coffee got us all excited.

20120725-172338

Choosing from the wide array of pastries was kinda tough. I want to have everything but in the end we settled for four; the must-have croissant, raisin roll, bacon and cheese bread and lemon curd tart. The couple ordered ham & cheese sandwich, almond croissant and bacon & cheese bread. Now, we can’t wait to dig in!!

20120725-172349

The croissant buttery and flaky; crispy on the outside and soft in the inside. However, this is not the best I have eaten. I quite like the raisin roll though, the pastry is flaky and has a define layering. It can eat a few of them but the hubs think that it was just okay. The bacon & cheese bread is hard and dry. Quite a disappointment. And now the lemon curd tart. One thing I can say is that it taste better than it looks. The tart shell is crispy and buttery, and the lemon curd is slightly thick for me. But I think I can be less fussy for once. The overall taste of the tart is well balanced, right amount of sweetness and tanginess. This is the only one that got the approval from the hubs. He is a fussy eater!!! As for the couple, they quite enjoyed their selections especially the almond croissant. I took a bite of it but I find the filling is a tad too sweet.

We left around 12ish and the place was still packed, people were still streaming in. In my personal opinion, I find that this place is over-rated. I wouldn’t mind coming back here again though, to try other stuffs but definitely not during weekends!

1b88d740ce4711e1827612313814176c_7

 

Tiong Bahru Bakery
#01-70 Eng Hoon Street, Singapore
Closed on Tuesdays

Leave a Reply

