{Penang} Assam Laksa, Air Itam

When people ask me for food recommmendations in penang, one that certainly comes to mind is assam laksa. This is maybe beause assam laksa is my all time favourite penang food. If there’s anything I miss about penang food, this has got to be it. I remember as a young girl growing up in town, I would ask my grandmother for 50 cents every evening, just so i could get my daily fix of this fantastically tasty veggies and noodle.

There are a few famous Laksa stalls in penang, some more well known than others and each individually have their strengths and mild weaknesses. Many penangites have favourites stalls but for me, when it comes to laksa, its hard to choose one! There’s the sweet laksa opposite Penang Chinese Girl High School (Peng Hua) which is convenient and strategially located for people living in the north, there’s the slightly out of reach super famous amongst Singaporean one at balik pulau. And then there’s the famous one at the wet market near the foot of Kek Lok Si, a complex of buddhist temples in penang.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My first introduction to Laksa was at this latter stall. This happened many years ago. And over the years this has got to be one of the more prominent and popular stalls in Penang. The uncle has been selling laksa at this corner of the market for 53 years! I remember as a child he used to sell laksa from morning till night, but these days he says age has caught up with him and he closes his stall in the evening at 7ish.

So the hubs and i decided to venture to this part of penang to get our laksa during a recent trip home. We rarely come to this stall because it is a bit out of the way for us, but we were here to run an errand for a friend so it was opportune.

There was not much of a queue and getting a seat was not a problem, this being a weekday morning. However, if you come during the weekend, do expect some waiting time. We were promptly served after placing our orders. For RM 3.50 a bowl, with generous amount of ingredients, I think it is reasonably priced. From what I remembered, they grow all the vegetables themselves but I’m not sure if they still do now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I like my laksa with less prawn paste (hae ko) and chili padi. Some people will be put off by the fishy smell, but trust me, the smell does not justify this addictive spicy sour fish broth. The broth is full of robust flavour and the sweetness, spiciness and sourness will definitely get your taste buds tingling.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you are in Penang or planning to visit Penang, do add this to your “to-eat” list. Oh, did I mentioned that Assam Laksa has been voted by CNNGo as the seventh most delicious food in the world? πŸ™‚

Note: According to uncle, they are close on every Wednesday

6 thoughts on “{Penang} Assam Laksa, Air Itam

  1. Lady J

    Thanks for the list of food places to go in Penang.. really appreciate it! Can’t wait for next week where I will be eating yummy Assam Laksa in your hometown! Yay!!!

    Reply
    1. e Post author

      You can always save Air Itam for next pig out! Haha
      Air Itam is quite out of the way, besides you can get good laksa in town πŸ™‚ Penang road is one of them.

      Reply
  2. price comparison

    Howdy I am so grateful I found your website,
    I really found you by error, while I was browsing on Google for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a remarkable
    post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the superb job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

