Sweet Potato Balls

What food reminds you best of your childhood? For me, it has to be sweet potato balls! I loved it as a child and I still love it now. When I was little, I always tagged along my granny when she goes on her daily marketing routine. I don’t know why but I just love going to the market. The first thing I looked out for when I’m at the market is the old lady manning the kuih stall and my face will light up upon seeing the beautiful golden sweet potato balls 😀 I remembered them being sold rather cheaply then, a mere 20 cents for 10 sweet treats.  Just imagine my disappointment when one day, I found out the old lady has decided to call it a day. I was sad. Real sad 😦 Later on, I came across another stall selling them at a market nearby but that was also short-lived. The uncle also stopped selling after a few years.  And I couldn’t find them selling anywhere anymore! 😦

One day, as I was walking in Xi Men Ding in Taipei, one stall caught my attention. I don’t know what’s written on the board as I can’t read Chinese but my instinct told me that could be what I have been longing for after all these years. And my instincts were right, damn right!! Oh my, I was as happy as a lark! Savouring piece by piece, reminiscing over my childhood 🙂

Few weeks back, I was flipping through my collections of recipes and I found the recipe for the balls. I actually have the recipe all along!! I’m so DUH, right? 🙄 Took a drive to the supermarket, got all the ingredients and I was off to create my childhood snacks.

It turned out good but not great. It can be better I supposed. I got the taste right just like what I remembered but texture wise, I need some fine-tuning.  It’s a little bit chewy than I liked them to be, however that did not deter me (and the husband) from finishing them.

Well, taste and look aside, the most important thing is that I can finally get my sweet potato balls fix whenever I want! 🙂

Sweet Potato Balls (Fan Shu Dan)

2 medium (~500g) Orange flesh sweet potato
250g Glutinous rice flour
30g Corn flour
100g Sugar
1/4 tsp Salt
Oil for deep-frying

1. Boil the sweet potatoes for 20-30 minutes or until soft. When it’s cool, peel off the skin and mash the sweet potatoes.
2. Place the mashed sweet potatoes in a big bowl and add in the remaining of the ingredients.
3. Mix with your hand until it combines and knead to form a smooth dough.
4. Pinch a small piece of dough (~10-15g) and roll to form a ball.
5. Heat the oil on medium heat and when it is hot, fry the balls in batches.
6. When the balls are golden brown, remove and drain on paper hand towel. Serve immediately.

So, what food reminds you of your childhood? I would like to know!

Leave a Reply

