Dinner For One: Kimchi Prawns Pasta

Yes, dinner for one again. The husband was held up at work and couldn’t make it in time for dinner. I was asked to go ahead with dinner as he wasn’t sure what time he could go off. So there I was contemplating what to have for dinner. Since dinner is my only decent repast of the day (lunch for me is usually coffee and sometimes bread), I try to eat something proper. Hence instant noodles, bread and biscuits are out. Searching the fridge for food was especially challenging when you have nothing in the fridge except cans of beer and a tub of kimchi. And I do have some prawns in the freezer. Why not make use of them?

Kimchi, checked. Prawns, checked. Pasta, checked. So I was off to an experiment in the kitchen. I have not eaten kimchi pasta before and I do not know how it will taste like. But I guess the combinations of flavors will be immense – salty, sour and spicy. And yes, it was! This dish opens up my appetite and gets my taste bud going. I am happy with my dinner experiment, but the only downside, I should’ve cooked more!

20120427-134226.jpg

If you love kimchi, you will definitely like this pasta. Kimchi goes with everything, don’t you think so? Next up, kimchi fried rice. But for now, here’s the recipe.

Kimchi Prawns Pasta
(serves 1)

Pasta of your choice, I used spaghetti, cooked al dente
5-6 prawns, shelled
2-3 tbsp Kimchi, cut into small pieces
half a small onion, sliced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 tsp gochugaru, korean red pepper flakes
1/2 tbsp gochujang, red pepper paste
1 tsp mirin
2 tsp sesame oil
salt or light soya sauce, to taste
1 stalk spring onion, garnish

1. Heat up sesame oil in a wok. Add in red pepper flakes and fry for a few seconds until it becomes a paste.
Add in onion and garlic. Sauteed until onions are soft.
2. Add in kimchi, prawns, red pepper paste and mirin. Stir fry. Add a some water if it gets too dry.
3. When the prawns are almost cooked, add in pasta and toss to make sure all are well combined.
4. Give it a taste. Add salt or light soya sauce if needed.
5. Turn off the heat and serve. Drizzle with sesame oil.
Garnish with chopped spring onions (optional).

* This is the recipe I crafted myself. These are basically the ingredients I used, you can twitch it according to your own preference. One important note, be generous with kimchi. This is after all, kimchi pasta 🙂
Happy Cooking!

4 thoughts on “Dinner For One: Kimchi Prawns Pasta

  1. Cath

    Oh you know what, I made this Korean inspired pasta a while back (inspired by this old K-drama). This pasta you made just gave me an idea. A very good idea.

    Love this post.

    Reply
    1. e Post author

      Hie Cath, thanx for dropping by! Have fun trying out the pasta.
      I love K-drama too 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

