Fluffy Buttermilk Pancakes

Fluffy thick pancakes, drizzle with maple syrup with a generous dollop of butter and served with crispy bacon…who can resist ‘em? Well, I can’t! I am typically not a big breakfast person but when it comes to pancakes, I just can’t resist them. It’s like they are crying out loud for my attention! If you didn’t already know, I have a soft spot for pancakes!

On a random weekday morning, I woke up to a pancake craving. Took a peep in the pantry to make sure I have all the ingredients and without wasting any time, I whipped up a batch of pancakes. They are thick and fluffy, just the way I like. They are so easy to put together and the good thing is all the ingredients are readily available in the kitchen.

In order to get a fluffy pancake, my friend, Lee once told me to whisk the whites separately until soft peaks and fold it with the remaining of the mixture. This way does result in fluffier pancakes. Another way is to substitute milk with buttermilk. The acidity in the buttermilk will react with the rising agent, sodium bicarbonate in the pancake mixture thus producing light and fluffy pancakes. This is by far the fluffiest pancakes I’ve ever made. I oooohhhh and aaaahhh as I took every bite and I told myself, it will be buttermilk from now on!

Buttermilk Pancakes

serves 4

125g all purpose flour
25g caster sugar
20g baking powder
1 egg, beaten
240ml buttermilk
pinch of salt

1. In a large bowl, mix flour, baking powder, sugar and salt. Make a well in the center, pour in milk and egg. Whisk until all the lumps are gone.
2. Heat a lightly oiled frying pan over medium heat. Scoop batter onto the frying pan and cook until bubbles appear on the surface. Flip it over and cook until browned on the other side.

If you do not have buttermilk at home, don’t bother buying from the supermarket, it’s quite ex. I would suggest you to make your own. Simply add 1 tbsp of lemon juice to 1 cup of milk and let it stand 5-10 minutes before using.

I served the pancakes with blueberry sauce. To make the blueberry sauce, cook blueberry, sugar, water and lemon juice on medium-high heat for 5-7 minutes, stirring occasionally. When the sauce reaches the desired consistency, turn of the heat. Serve warm or cold.

 

4 thoughts on “Fluffy Buttermilk Pancakes

    1. e Post author

      Ooo make for your husband bday? Hahaha. Not sure if can get the sauce or not. Can try cold storage but it will be expensive.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

