Spicy Assam Prawns

Reading Lady J’s post on quick fix assam meal makes me crave for one and it had to be my late grandma’s (mum’s mum) version. She is a good cook and one of her many dishes that I love the most is Assam Prawn Curry. In order to satisfy my cravings, I tried to recreate the dish I had when I was a kid but well, I guess I have to get tips from my aunt who “inherited” my late grandma’s recipes.

Although I did not managed to recreate my late grandma’s assam prawns, but I did whipped up an appetizing dish for dinner. In my honest opinion, they were delish. The spiciness and sourness were spot on. As I will be away for a week, I up-sized the portion and half of it was meant for the husband’s dinner when I was away. But guess what? We cleaned up the entire bowl of curry including the husband’s half and I had 2 servings of rice. Ooppss!

Ingredients

15 prawns, shelled and deveined
2 squid, cleaned and cut into pieces
2 lemongrass, bruised
2 onions, cut into wedges
6 ladyfingers, cut into pieces

2 tbsp sambal paste
2 tbsp assam/tamarind paste (dissolve in 1/2 bowl of water)
1-1.5 bowl of water (Curry consistency depends on preference)
3 pieces kaffir lime leaves
juice of 5-6 small lime (Sourness depends on preference. Add more if necessary)
sugar and salt/ fish sauce, to taste

1. Heat wok with 1 tbsp of oil and add sambal paste. Fry until fragrant.
2. Add in onions, lemongrass and kaffir lime leaves. Stir fry for 1-2 minutes.
3. Add in tamarind juice, lime juice and water. Bring to boil.
4. Taste to adjust saltiness and sourness.
5. Add in seafood and simmer for 3-4 minutes. Lastly, add in ladyfingers. (You can cook ladyfingers together with the curry or steam them beforehand and add into the curry before serving)
6. Dish out and serve hot with rice.

Leave a Reply

