Vanilla Macarons With Strawberry Cream Cheese


Now that I almost get the techniques right and turning out the almost perfect shells (sometimes not always), it gives me the confidence to try out new combinations. Personally, I don’t really like macarons, I find them too sweet for my liking but I enjoy making them. I love looking at pretty things 🙂

This time round, I am making vanilla macarons with strawberry cream cheese filling. I have some frozen strawberries in the freezer and thought it will be a good idea to add them into the cream cheese but it turns out to be a no-no. The frozen strawberries released a lot of water that caused the shells to be soggy. In the end, they were bin bound which was quite disappointing. I thought this batch was my best so far! 😦 But before they went to the bin, I managed to salvage a few and I think they tasted quite good and not too sweet.

Well, I am constantly learning from my mistakes and I hope I will fare better next time round!

Vanilla Macarons Shell (recipe adapted from Lady J)
makes 14-16 shells

1 egg white (preferably aged for 3 days) brought to room temperature
A pinch of egg white powder
38g icing sugar
36g powdered almonds
30g granulated sugar
few drops of vanilla essence

1. Line baking tray with 2 pieces of parchment paper.
2. Sift powdered sugar with the almond powder to ensure that there are no lumps.
3. In a large mixing bowl, beat the egg white until they are foamy. Add the egg white powder and mix well. Add the granulated sugar gradually and continue beating until you get stiff peaks.
4. Carefully fold the dry ingredients, in 3 batches, into the beaten egg whites with a flexible rubber spatula. Add in vanilla essence and fold thoroughly. Stop folding when the mixture is smooth and there are no streaks of egg white.
5. Scrape the batter into the pastry bag and pipe the batter on the lined baking trays in 1-inch circles, evenly spaced one-inch (3 cm) apart.
6. Rap the tray a few times on the counter top to flatten the macarons and to remove any air-bubbles in the macarons.
7. Leave the macarons out in the open for at least 30 minutes to an hour. This step is important to allow the top of the macaron shell to dry up so that you get a smooth surface for the macarons.  You will know when to pop the macarons into the oven when you touch the macarons and the batter does not stick to your fingers. Be careful not to leave them out too much for it will give you crunchy macarons. This step is important and if you skip it, your macarons might flatten. While waiting, preheat oven to 140 degrees C.
8. Bake for 15 mins and let cool completely before removing from baking sheet.

I will not post up the recipe for the filling as it did not turn our right. Will post up one when I find the perfect recipe. This is the basic macaron recipe (sans the vanilla essence), be adventurous, create your own flavor and filling 🙂

Have fun in the kitchen, peeps!

4 thoughts on “Vanilla Macarons With Strawberry Cream Cheese

  1. Lady J

    These are gorgeous!!! CONGRATS on churning out such a perfect batch!!!! They look better than mine.. hehe…

    Frozen strawberries can be rather tricky.. what I did the last time was to sift the puree leaving only the bits. Perhaps you can try that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

