Coffee Sablé Cookies

Lately, I have been on a macarons making adventures and constantly left with egg yolks which I do not know what to do with it. Fried rice always comes to mind but I want to try something different. So, as I was flipping through Keiko Ishida’s Book, Okashi – sweet treats with love, I stumbled upon a recipe that call for egg yolks and it caught my attention. Finally, no more fried rice!

The said recipe is Green Tea Sablé Cookies. I love green tea; cake, ice cream, cookies, anything as long as it says green tea. As I was preparing to bake some cookies, I realised that I ran out of green tea powder, dang!! So, I decided to use coffee powder instead. Coffee is my first love. Sorry green tea, you have to take a backseat 😉

Sablé cookies are a classic French cookie originating in Normandy, France. The name “sablé” is French for “sand” which refers to the sandy texture of this crumbly short-bread like cookie. This was my first time making it and in my honest opinion, I think they were fabulous. They are delicious; fine and crumbly, also not forgetting the coffee aroma which was strong and oh-so good! If you love butter cookies, you should try this at home. Please note that they are addictive, don’t say that I did not warn you beforehand 😛

Coffee Sable Cookies (recipe adapted from Keiko Ishida)
makes about 50 cookies

240g pastry flour, chilled
15g coffee powder (I used instant coffee powder)
150g unsalted butter, at room temperature
130g icing sugar
pinch of salt
2 egg yolks
granulated sugar (as needed)
1 egg white, beaten

1. Sift flour and coffee powder together twice. Set aside
2. Beat butter, icing sugar and salt until soft and creamy. Add egg yolks and mix well. Add flour and coffee powder that has been sifted and fold in with a spatula. Cover dough with cling film and refrigerate for 15 minutes.
3. Divide chilled dough in half. Place a portion of dough on a large sheet of parchment paper, then shape it into a log about 3.5cm in diameter. Wrap log with parchment paper. Repeat with the other portion of dough. Refrigerate dough until firm. If not using immediately, wrap with cling film and freeze. Cookie dough can be kept for up to 2 months in freezer.
4. Preheat oven to 150C. Cut logs into 7mm thick rounds (Mine was more than 7mm, thus the thick cookies) Dip edges in granulated sugar.
5. Place cookies on a baking tray lined with parchment paper. Brush a little egg white over the cookies.
6. Bake for 25 minutes, then remove and leave to cool on wire rack. Store cookies in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 10 days.

These delicious coffee flavoured cookies make a great X’mas gift. Put them in a jar and tie with some nice ribbons. Of course with a nice little tag attached. X’mas gift make with love 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Coffee Sablé Cookies

  1. Lady J

    Gotta try this.. I’m always on a lookout for recipes that just uses egg yolks. This is perfect for Christmas! 😉 I just posted my recipe for an egg yolk cake too if you are interested.. hehe

    Reply

Leave a Reply

