Orange Chiffon Cake

When we were in Melbourne, my brother brought us to Beatrix, a little cafe out of nowhere in North Melbourne and he said their Lemon Chiffon Cake is by far the nicest he has ever eaten. Nicer than mine 🙄 Okay, whatever!! You see, I made Pandan Chiffon Cake once for him when we were back in Penang for our cousin’s wedding and it did not turn out as I expected it to be (I blame it on the oven, because I’m not familiar with mum’s oven :P) Because of this, my brother concluded that my chiffon cake is below par. Hmm…one day I will prove him wrong. Back to the Lemon Chiffon Cake. My bro bought 2 slices for us and it cost him AU$ 8, that is almost  S$ 11!! Don’t you think it’s a wee bit expensive? Anyway, I have to admit that they were good..fricking good. It was light and fluffy, moist with a bright flavors. I told myself, I’m gonna make one when I get back to Singapore.

Yesterday, was my day off and I got down to work. Since I have a bag of oranges lying in the fridge, I made Orange Chiffon Cake instead. It turned out well with some rooms for improvements. It was light and airy with a strong but not too overpowering orange flavor just enough to fill the house with some citrusy aroma. Actually, I am quite happy with the end result 🙂 The husband’s verdict: Not as nice as Beatrix’s 😦 FYI, he refused to share with anyone and he finished the whole cake! So, I don’t really know what is his verdict 😛

Orange Chiffon Cake

(21cm tube pan)

115g cake flour
3/4 tsp baking powder
85ml orange juice (squeezed from 2 oranges)
zest of 2 oranges
5 egg yolks
30g sugar
1/4 tsp salt
60ml corn oil
1/2 tsp vanilla essence

5 egg whites
50g sugar
1/2 tsp cream of tartar

1. Preheat the oven to 175 C.
2. Whisk egg whites until foamy. Add cream of tartar and beat briefly. Gradually, add 50g of sugar and beat until stiff peaks form. Set aside.
3. In another mixing bowl, beat egg yolks and sugar until light colored and triple in volume.
4. Add in oil, orange juice, orange zest and vanilla extract. Whisk until combined.
5. Add in dry ingredients (flour, salt and baking powder) which have been sifted. Mix until well combined.
6. Fold in 1/3 of egg whites meringue into the batter. Fold GENTLY!
7. Fold in the remaining of the meringue and fold GENTLY until well combined.
8. Pour batter into an unlined/ungreased pan. Give the pan a few tap on the table top to reduce any air bubbles.
9. Place on the lower rack of the oven and bake for 45 mins.
10. Remove cake from the oven and immediately turn it upside down, leave the cake to cool in the pan.
11. Unmould the cake when it is completely cooled. Run a knife around the edges and serve.

Enjoy! 

6 thoughts on “Orange Chiffon Cake

  1. Lady J

    I’ve always found making of chiffon cakes really challenging. I like the sound of the orange cake though I’m not sure if I will ever get to make it.

    Hehe… I see ur Christmas decor is up.. 😉

    Reply
    1. e Post author

      Lady J, that’s what i thought initially but it’s not that challenging actually. I’m sure you will do fine with chiffon cake as with macarons!!

      Yup, our first x’mas tree!! 😀

      Reply
  2. montii

    Tasted. Very nice. It is spongy, soft, fine & a strong taste & smell of oranges. Like it.

    Copied your recipe, will try making it next week.

    Score: 9/10

    Reply

Leave a Reply

