Pandan Chiffon Cake

As a child and up to recent years, I don’t have a liking towards pandan chiffon cake but that all changed when I was introduced to Bengawan Solo’s pandan chiffon cake by PS. She was bragging how good it was and how her family members all loved it. Everytime when she’s back in Penang, she will buy boxes of chiffon cake back as a gift. Our friends in Hong Kong loved them too. When ask if they need anything from Singapore, “chiffon cake, pls?”..that would be their reply.  After trying Bengawan Solo’s, I am now a chiffon cake convert. I love their cottony soft texture and the pleasant aroma of pandan as you take a whiff of the cake.

Chiffon cake is on my list of stuff to bake for quite sometime. I am terrified of making it for I have heard a lot of stories..how fickle it can be and how it can deflate one’s ego when the cake did not turn out the way it supposed to be. But I am determine to tackle the chiffon cake even if it takes me ages to get it right.

I went online to search for the perfect recipe. There are so many different recipes out there and after reading a few, I’ve decided to give this recipe a try. It has been tweaked to perfection, tried and tested. So I sucked up all the courage and started creating the perfect chiffon cake. First few times were disasters but I put those episodes behind me and moved on. After a few failed attempts, I managed to whip up a decent looking cake. I’m sure it tasted good coz the husband refused to share it with anyone!! It was a HUGE compliments. Nuff’ said.

My favorite part of chiffon cake making is watching is rise in the oven. It is indeed an ego boosting moment as it rise into a fat fluffy cake while the pandan-ny aroma fills the kitchen. And the part which I hate the most is the cooling part, you can see/touch/smell but you can’t eat it!

I am still mastering the art of making the perfect chiffon cake. So far, it has been okay looking but not satisfying. I am sure in time to come I will succeed 🙂

Pandan Chiffon Cake 

(adapted from The Pleasure Monger)
21 cm Pan

3 egg yolks
45g caster sugar
60ml sunflower oil
70ml coconut milk
95g plain flour
5g corn flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp pandan juice
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp pandan essence
1/2 tsp green coloring

4 egg whites
50g caster sugar
1/2 tsp cream of tartar

1. Preheat oven to 170C.
2. Whisk egg whites until foamy. Add cream of tartar and beat briefly. Gradually, add 50g of sugar and beat until stiff peaks form. Set aside.
3. In another mixing bowl, beat egg yolks and sugar until light colored and triple in volume.
4. Add in oil, coconut milk, pandan juice, vanilla extract, pandan essence and green coloring. Whisk until combined.
5. Add in dry ingredients (plain flour, corn flour, salt and baking powder) which have been sifted. Mix until well combined.
6. Fold in 1/3 of egg whites meringue into the batter. Fold GENTLY!
7. Fold in the remaining of the meringue and fold GENTLY until well combined.
8. Pour batter into an unlined/ungreased pan. Give the pan a few tap on the table top to reduce any air bubbles.
9. Place on the lower rack of the oven and bake for 20 mins at 170C. Lower the temperature to 160C and bake for another 10 mins. Lower the temperature again to 150C and bake for a further 15 mins.
10. Remove cake from the oven and immediately turn it upside down, leave the cake to cool in the pan.
11. Unmould the cake when it is completely cooled. Run a knife around the edges and serve.

Enjoy!!

7 thoughts on “Pandan Chiffon Cake

  1. The Pleasure Monger

    Thanks for the linkback! I think you did a beautiful job for the cake, looks perfect to me!! By the way, my mum is from Penang too, and it used to be my second home as we visited pretty often. I miss it, the people and the food, very much!!

    Reply
    1. e Post author

      You are most welcome!! I have concealed the ugly part 🙂 My cake always have a slightly sunken top!
      Oh great to know that you are half Penangite..I miss the food very much too!! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Edwina

    I made this cake for the first time today, 3 times and each time it was better than the oen before. Even made soem cupcakes out of the batter from my third attempt. Delious and light, thank you for sharing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

