The Starbucks Experience

The weather in Hong Kong is crazily hot. I almost get heat stroke walking in Central alongside with jacket wearing office workers. I seriously don’t know how they do it!! People in Hong Kong, how do you guys stand walking in the heat all suit up??

After completing my shopping, I’m in dire need of air-con and my daily cuppa, so I headed to Starbucks at Duddell Street to get my fix and also to cool myself down. I’ve read so much about this Starbucks and decided to give it a visit. It is tucked away at a little corner away from the hustles and bustles of Central. This is no ordinary Starbucks. It is fashioned after a traditional Hong Kong cafe which you can still find in Mongkok or Yau Ma Tei, sans the air-con. The front of the cafe is just like any normal Starbucks but as you walk further inside,  it’s as though you are being transported back to the old Hong Kong, just like in the movie set of “In the Mood for Love”.
I shall let the pictures do the talking.

The iconic gas-powered street lamp

The interior – decorated in collaboration with the quintessential Hong Kong brand G.O.D

Paper chinese menu

Old Cha Chaan Theng feel

Retro floor tiles ♥

Fan that does not work

Old school poster

If you are in Hong Kong, do pop by, it’s worth a visit even if you are not a coffee drinker.

Floor M2, Baskerville House,
13 Duddell St, 2523 5685
http://www.starbucks.com.hk.

Leave a Reply

