Blueberry Muffins

I spotted blueberries on sale in a local supermarket – $3.95 for 2 punnets. Very cheap I would say. Normally, it’s going at $3.95 for ONE punnet. So I stocked up a few punnets for our daily dose of smoothie. But my forgetfulness got the better of me and I forgot the yogurt!!! How can you make smoothie without yogurt??? *slaps forehead*
I was thinking what to do with all the juicy blueberries, scones or muffins? Hmm..not really in the mood for scones, it got to be muffins then. I always have the basic ingredients (flour, sugar, butter and egg) readily available at home. It is important for times like this. So, I whipped up a batch of muffins and in less than hour, it’s sitting prettily on the island top. Made myself a cup of coffee and I’m all set for afternoon tea 🙂

This is one of the goodies I made when I first got my charming KitchenAid. It’s easy, fast and so reliable. This is my go to recipe when I wanted something fuss-free.

Blueberry Muffins

makes 12

275g blueberries
225g plain flour
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
175g castor sugar
2 eggs
175ml milk
115g butter, melted
Grated rind of 1 orange (or lemon)
1 tsp vanilla essence

1. Preheat oven to 190C. Line muffin tray with paper cases or lightly grease with butter.
2. Mash about half of 1/4 of the blueberries with a fork. Sieve the flour, baking powder, salt and nutmeg into the mixer bowl. Stir in the sugar.
3. Beat the eggs, milk, melted butter, orange rind, vanilla essence and mashed blueberries until combined. Add in the dry ingredients and mix for 30 seconds and being careful not to overmix. Gently fold in the remaining blueberries and spoon the mixture into the prepared tins, almost filling to the top with mixture.
4. Bake in the oven for 25-30 mins until risen and golden. Remove from the oven and cool in the tin for 5 mins before transferring to a wire rack to cool.

Eat them fresh!!

Leave a Reply

