Durian Puffs {strictly for durian lovers}

The NUS gang came over for pre mid-autumn dinner a couple of weeks ago. Durian is in season now, I have all the ingredients in the fridge for choux pastry, why not make durian puffs? Since we all love durians. The first time I had these was in Goodwood Park, they have a range of exciting durian cakes to pastries. Apart from their ever so famous Durian Puffs, the Durian Mousse Cake and the Durian Crepe are also to die for.

I always thought making the durian filling is tough but I didn’t know how easy it was until I laid my hands to it. All you need is whipped cream and of course, durians. Ta-dah..the first batch of Durian Puffs.

That was the first time I tried making it and the result?? There were gone in minutes. Need I say more? Because they were so good, I had to make more the next day for the man.

Durian Puffs

makes 12-15 puffs

Choux Pastry (recipe adapted from keiko ishida)

75g pastry flour or top flour (I used all purpose flour), sifted
75g water
50g fresh milk
50g unsalted butter
2 egg yolks, lightly beaten, room temperature
pinch of sugar
pinch of salt
drop of vanilla essence

1. Preheat oven to 200C. Line baking tray with parchment paper.
2. In a saucepan, bring water, milk, butter, sugar and salt to boil on medium heat, then immediately remove from heat.
3. Using a wooden spoon, quickly stir in flour until combined and mixture comes together in a ball. Return to heat and cook, stirring constantly until the mixture leaves the side of the saucepan and a film forms at the bottom of the pan.
4. Cool it down a little. Add egg one at a time, stirring until the egg has fully incorporated into the mixture before adding the next.
5. Test if the batter is ready by scooping it up with a wooden spoon. The batter should hang down and form a smooth triangular shape.
6. Pour batter into a pipping bag fitted with a 1 cm plain pipping tip. Pipe out 5 cm circles onto the line baking tray and gently smoothen out the peaks with a moistened finger. (A lazy way is to scoop it using a spoon instead of pipping)
7. Bake for about 20 mins at 200C, then reduce the heat to 180C and continue to bake for another 15-20 mins. To check if they puffs are ready, give it a tap. It should produce a hollow sound.
8. Once it’s ready, let it cool on a wire rack. Keep them in an air tight container to maintain freshness.

Durian Filling 

Enough to fill 2 batches of durian puffs

150ml whipping cream
3tbsp milk
700gm durian pulp (you can increase or decrease the amount)

1. Whip up whipping cream into a soft peak.
2. Fold in durian pulp and stir in milk
3. Fill the puffs with the filling.

* It is not advisable to pipe the filling as the durian pulp might get stuck in the tip. It’s much easier using a spoon.

* Keep it chilled or in the freezer. Thaw it for 1-2 mins before chowing them down. I know it’s hard to play the waiting game but it’s worth it.

Enjoy!!

18 thoughts on “Durian Puffs {strictly for durian lovers}

  1. Lady J

    Hi Elaine, I was thinking of making these puffs minus the durian of course (can’t get them here at an affordable price). Can I just double-check? Recipe calls for 2 egg yolks and not whole eggs right? Bcos most of the recipes I surfed called for whole eggs. Many thanks!

    Reply
      1. Lady J

        Hmm.. I tried making some today but it came out all wrong.. I think I didn’t beat the yolks enough.. will have to try again. And you are right! I can save the whites for macaron, I never know what to do with the yolks. Hehe

  2. e Post author

    You have to let the dough ball cool down a little (very warm but not too hot to touch) before adding the egg. Then stir until smooth. If it’s too hot, the egg will turn into scrambled egg 😉

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Say ‘Choux’ « lady J's musings

  4. Serene

    I tried using AP flour but it always collapses when taken out of oven (even if i let cool slowly after baking before taking them out). I switched to bread flour and the structure turned out better, but became tougher. Do u think i can mix AP flour with bread flour to get a better bite?

    Reply
    1. e Post author

      Hi Serene, I’m not an expert but hopefully my few tips can be of help 🙂

      The reason for collapse pastry might be due to insufficient baking time. Try leaving them in the oven slightly longer. You can use whole egg instead of yolk which I think yield a better shell too.

      Bread flour is a strong flour which has high gluten content. The excess gluten will create a tough shell. I’ve read recipes that combine both flour together. So i’m sure it can be done 🙂

      Happy Baking!!

      Reply
  5. jas03

    My batter turned out too dry. Like cookie dough. At pt where I added flour, it became very dry , I had many lumps of dough. And they remained like dry cookie dough even after I put the mixture back on heat. Where did I go wrong?

    Reply
    1. e Post author

      Hie Jas, once you add the flour in, it will be dry and lumpy, just like cookie dough. When you put it back on heat, you have to keep stirring until it comes together to become a smooth dough. Hope this helps! (:

      Reply
    1. e Post author

      Hie Mary, I’ve used the durian filling for swissroll and sponge cake before, so yeah it’s possible to use the filling as frosting. However, the frosting will not be smooth though, you will have bits of durian sticking out. You can give it a try. Do let me know the outcome! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Maria

    I am interested to try your recipe on the durian puff. But may I ask… why is the required milk and water are measured by gram. Kindly enlighten me.

    Thank you.

    Regards

    Reply
  7. Bel

    Hi i tried this recipe, three times in 2 days. Because it did not came up to a puff texture. It taste more like a scone. All three tries turn out to be the same. i am quite positive i followed the recipe but i did not get the smooth triangular shape. It was more like a dough texture. I wonder what went wrong?

    Reply
    1. e Post author

      Hi Bel, sorry to hear that. I’m not too sure what went wrong either. But let’s try..

      Did you let the flour mixture cool down (not hot to touch) before adding the eggs? If not you will end up scrambling the eggs.

      When you add the eggs make sure that they are fully incorporated before adding the next one. It will look like it has cuddled and split at first but keep going, it will come back together in a while. Instead of using hand, you can use a mixer to incorporate the eggs.

      You can try using whole eggs instead of egg yolks.

      Hope this helps 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

